the Hare and the Heron

hare & heronAs some of you will be aware, I recently made a life changing move to The Bivouac where my husband has taken a job.  We’ve moved our daughter to a new school, taken our son out of nursery and settled our family into a static caravan to be part of the adventure that is The Bivouac.

I haven’t been as involved in the business as I expected to be at this stage as it’s taking me a while to settle in here (it’s been just short of a month, but I’m pretty impatient!) due in part to the fact that I’m still working in Lancashire & travelling back for at least 2 days each week.

Some days I love it here & others I wonder ‘what have we done?’!  I notice when I meditate I’m more likely to have an ‘I love it here’ kind of day…

Living in a caravan with 2 small children who want to be up at 6am doesn’t give much time or space for meditation, but the last couple of days I’ve managed to fit in both a nature walk and a meditation & they have really helped me to connect… both with myself & ‘something bigger’.

After my first meditation earlier this week, this article on intuition arrived in my inbox (something else I notice when I meditate… what I need to see, hear, read, etc. comes to me of its own accord! :-))

The article got me thinking about what signs the universe has been giving me of late & there were two that sprung to mind: last week I saw a hare (not an animal I’ve seen more than twice in my life) and over the past couple of weeks I’ve been astonished that each time I drive any distance I seem to see a heron!  So, I decided to explore the symbolism of hares and herons…

The Hare…

  • often seen as having a role in the creation of the world, a symbol of new life and enlightenment …new life jumped out at me as did enlightenment – I feel strongly that my time here, at The Bivouac, will be a spiritual journey
  • often associated with impatience and haste (as in the story of the tortoise and the hare) …I laughed, thinking of my impatience to feel settled into this new place, this new life!
  • symbolises change in leaping & hopping movements …again I laughed, this move for us was not a ‘small steps’ incremental kind of move it was indeed a leap (of faith in many ways)!
  • was an ancient Egyptian hieroglyph that stood for the auxiliary verb ‘to be’, where the Egyptian ‘to be’ was associated with creation and the senses of being, existing, being embodied, alive & persisting  …I loved reading this – it made me think that I need to continue to do what I’m doing, to find the time for meditation, walks in nature, time with the children as this is one of the main things this adventure is about for me… ‘to be’ and not ‘to do’.  See my previous blog “Time is but a stream I go a-fishing in”
  • is a symbol of simultaneous destruction and recreation that is at the very heart of life.  Life is not just about being creative, but also requires the balance of being destructive …interesting to reflect that this new life wouldn’t exist without the ‘destruction’ of my old life and perhaps what I’m seeing as my struggle to settle is in fact only a ‘letting go’ of what I had previously in order to embrace the new.

The Heron…

  • is honored, in Egypt, as the creator of light …again creator/creation and for me a link between ‘light’ and ‘enlightenment’
  • in China, represents patience …the hare making me acknowledge my impatience and the heron reminding me to be patient!
  • which Native American tribes noted as inquisitive, curious and determined, seeing the heron as a symbol of wisdom and good judgment …telling me I’ve made a wise and good judgment to be here perhaps
  • as a water creature, is also a symbol of going with the flow, and working with the elements of Mother Nature rather than struggling against her  …when I read this it spoke to me so much of being in flow, not struggling, getting closer to nature…

So, if I consider both the hare & the heron to be signs from the universe… they tell me to go with the flow, be patient, trust in my decision, let go of my old life, spend time in nature and just ‘be’.

  • What signs is the universe giving you?
  • How aware of these signs are you?
  • What are you taking from them?

I’d love to hear from you… either by leaving a comment here or @ThePensiveCoach

About Jo Royle

passionate learner, eternal optimist, lover of real conversations, proud mum, frustrated traveller, (previously!) wannabe blogger, serial career changer, meditation teacher, coach & facilitator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the Hare and the Heron

  1. The Tranquil Kiwi says:

    Thanks for sharing another (rare but!) wonderful post – and with so many tags 🙂

    It’s currently autumn down here south of the equator but a month ago only a few leaves were falling from the trees. I was at a rare busy period in my life and had started to neglect my twice-daily connection with nature.

    For an entire week, leaves started to appear everywhere: in my shoes, at the bottom of my backpack, in my pocket and even in the draw where I keep my contect lenses! Eventually I realised that Mother Nature was calling me back. I decided to follow the signs and go for a walk by the river in Arrowtown and this is what I wrote when I returned……

    Today I was reminded of T.S. Eliot’s often quoting passage:

    With the drawing of this Love and the voice of this Calling
    We shall not cease from exploration
    And the end of all our exploring
    Will be to arrive at what we started
    And know the place for the first time

    Often quoted in a spiritual context I feel it applies equally to nature.

    For most of our long history we were unaware of our strong connection with nature. We drunk from nature, we bathed in nature, we built with nature and we turned to nature for sustenance. This connection was natural not conscious – we were subconsciously co-creating with Mother Earth.

    After just a few centuries of humanity exercising its power over its long-term partner we have largely become unconscious to our symbiotic connection with our home.

    However, I fear not(!), consciousness is rising fast now and, as a species, we are becoming increasing aware of our deep relationship with nature. We are starting to recognise that nature is change, that by embracing nature we are embracing change and, thus, embracing our infinite potential.

    As we awaken full conscious to nature this fully conscious connection will carry far more energy than our original (natural) connection and we will……..”arrive where we started and know the place for the first time”

    Apologies for the long comment!

    Thanks, Andy

  2. Pingback: Mirror of the Soul | @thepensivecoach

Leave a Reply

