Mirror of the Soul

The other week I was going on a meditation day at Dent Meditation Centre (you would think from by blogs that I do it regularly – I really don’t – it’s just that my blogs seem to feature meditation quite heavily).  As I cleared out my handbag, in order to create space for my journal, I found a gemstone my mum had given to me months before.  If I’m honest, I can’t remember exactly when (I should ask her & see if she remembers). 

The gemstone was a green polished stone in a small bag with a printed description.  I took it out of my bag (with handfuls of other things), noticed it, but without really looking at it, returned it to my bag.  I remember having a feeling of wanting to return it to my bag because I’d been carrying it around for months and I didn’t want to take it out now that I remembered it was there, it was somehow important to keep it with me.

During the day I noticed it again (mainly due to the fact I’d cleared so much rubbish from my bag it was now visible in the bottom!) and took it out to look at it… it was Malachite.  I read the words with it:

MALACHITE

This stone clears and activates the chakras and attunes to spiritual guidance.  Placed on the third eye, it activates visualisation and psychic vision.  On the heart, it brings balance and harmony.  It opens the heart to unconditional love.

Psychologically, Malachite is a stone of transformation.  Life is lived more intensely under the influence of this adventurous stone, which encourages risk taking and change.  It mercilessly shows what is blocking your spiritual growth.

Mentally, Malachite goes to the core of a problem, enhancing intuition and insight.

I laughed out loud as I read it, thinking “aaahhhhhhh!  That explains 2012 to date then!”

attunes to spiritual guidance

I feel I’m on a big spiritual journey or perhaps more accurately a big human journey 🙂

“We are not human beings on a spiritual journey.  We are spiritual beings on a human journey”
~Stephen Covey

a stone of transformation… encourages risk taking and change

Since January 2012

  • we’ve moved to a different part of the country
  • I’ve started a new job in a field I’ve not worked in before
  • I’ve started a new business
  • my husband has changed not only his job, but his career and his working hours and is working in a start up business (which is constantly changing)
  • our kids have changed school and nursery
  • we’ve moved away from family (who we once lived in the same village as) and friends (who my husband and I were jointly friends with from school) and are making new friends
  • we’ve moved from a 3 bedroom house on a main road to a caravan in a field!

It’d be fair to say that our lives have changed considerably.  OK, so we didn’t have a child, travel to the other side of the world, change cars, take exams or get married… but that was because we’d done all of those things in 2010 & 11!  I’d say we’re right up there in the change stakes & that was what made me laugh so much as I read about Malachite, this stone I’d been carrying around with me, everyday, without realising!

life is lived more intensely under the influence of those adventurous stone

One of the things we treasure most in our family and talk about the most are the adventures we have… from our month long campervan trip around New Zealand last summer to day trips to Brimstone Rocks or Howstein Gorge (George without the ‘E’ as my 6 year old always remembers it!) or even just an hour or two’s wander around the Druids Plantation, climbing the stones or building a bivouac… adventures are the currency of our lives!  As my husband and I look back on our years, we measure the success of them by the adventures we’ve had and also perhaps the changes we’ve made.

mercilessly shows what is blocking your spiritual growth

I feel like parts of my journey here… especially in recent weeks, have been painful and indeed ‘merciless’!  I feel my barriers and blockages have been well and truly revealed to me… the subject of much soul searching.  And I continue to trust in my meditation (& what turns up in my inbox! See my previous blog The Hare and the Heron) to reveal to me the answers to moving through those barriers.

goes to the core of a problem, enhancing intuition and insight

I feel enhancing insight and intuition has been an important part of my story for the last couple of years, intensifying in the last 6-12 months.  I know my meditations help me to, not only access my intuition more, but to trust in it (see My Tears are my Soul’s Truth) and therefore to act on it.  I remember having a realisation a couple of years ago that being more in-tune with my intuition was what would take my coaching practice to the next level.  As I result I intentionally focused on intuition- reading about it, talking to others about it, observing it, practicing acting on it, etc. and as a result, yes – I think it’s moved my coaching practice to another level… and also my life!

So, this gemstone, described as “mirror of the soul” was with me all through the change, growth, transformation and spiritual awakening and honing of my intuition. 

Back to my meditation day… Knowing Eliza (of Iuna Meditation) was aware of all the change in my life, I took my Malachite &  showed it to her, reading her the description and she & her husband David told me that their own spiritual guide, Padma Aon, had mentioned it to them recently.  A coincidence?

As we continued through the ‘Moving Beyond our Limitations’ meditation day it reminded me of a book I’d just finished (it’s just occurred to me that my mum gave me that too… she’s turning out to be one of my spiritual guides!) – Zero Limits – and about the concepts at its core, i.e. total responsibility and clearing.  I shared with David and Eliza the Ho’oponopono prayer…

I’m sorry
I love you
Please forgive me
Thank you

Again they said their Padma Aon had spoken to them of Ho’oponopono.  Another coincidence???

As I read more about Malachite I learn it ‘breaks unwanted ties and outworn patterns’ (clearing) & ‘teaches how to take responsibilities for one’s actions, thoughts and feelings’ making me realise the parallels between Malachite, Ho’oponopono, Meditation and Moving Beyond (Our Limitations, i.e.) Fear.

So, there it was… this small stone in the bottom of my bag… that I was carrying every day… changing my life!  Which makes me wonder… what else do I carry with me every day that impacts on my life?

Like most people… plenty… not positively or physically perhaps but negatively in the form of beliefs, opinions, thoughts, attitudes and conditioning!

  • What are you carrying which is impacting your life either positively or negatively?
  • What’s hiding away (perhaps metaphorically) in the bottom or your bag?
  • How do you want your life to be and what different things do you need to carry to move it in that direction?
  • How are you ‘clearing’ those unwanted ties and outworn patterns that are no longer serving you?

I’d love to hear your thoughts… either by leaving a comment here or on twitter @ThePensiveCoach

PS.  I dare you to get yourself some Malachite!  Just remember, it’s not for the faint hearted 😉  Me?  I might get mine turned into a piece of jewellery so I can consciously & intentionally carry it with me every day… it’s beautiful!

About Jo Royle

passionate learner, eternal optimist, lover of real conversations, proud mum, frustrated traveller, (previously!) wannabe blogger, serial career changer, meditation teacher, coach & facilitator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mirror of the Soul

  1. Pingback: Living from the Heart | @thepensivecoach

Leave a Reply

